





# Eleventh ECINEQ Conference The Society for the Study of Economic Inequality World Bank, Washington DC, July 9-11, 2025 CALL FOR PAPERS

The <u>ECINEQ</u> Executive Committee is pleased to announce the Eleventh Conference of the Society for the Study of Economic Inequality (ECINEQ), scheduled to take place in Washington DC from July 9 to July 11, 2025. This conference is co-hosted by the World Bank Group and George Washington University and will be held at the World Bank headquarters in central Washington.

The ECINEQ conference provides an important international forum for researchers whose work focuses on economic inequality and related fields, bringing together a comprehensive exchange of perspectives.

## **Keynote speakers**

Daron Acemoglu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Garance Genicot and Debraj Ray, Georgetown University and NYU

Nora Lustig, Presidential Address, Tulane University

ECINEQ welcomes submissions of papers that present theoretical or empirical analyses of topics related to inequality, poverty, mobility, and redistribution, as well as related policy analyses.

Only reasonably complete papers should be submitted using the form at the following link: <a href="https://editorialexpress.com/conference/EcineqWB2025/">https://editorialexpress.com/conference/EcineqWB2025/</a>. The deadline for paper submissions is February 15, 2025. Authors will be notified by March 2025 regarding the acceptance of their papers.

### **Important Dates**

Submission Deadline: February 15, 2025 (12:00 AM Eastern Standard Time)

Notification of Decision: March 2025

Registration Starts: April 2025 Registration Ends: May 10, 2025

### **Conference Fees**

**Standard rate** (all attendees, except those indicated below): 325 euros (of which 100 as ECINEQ membership fee);

**Special rate A** (scholars in upper-middle-income countries and PhD students based in high- and upper-middle-income countries -World Bank Country Classifications): 170 euro (of which 50 as ECINEQ membership fee);

**Special rate B** (scholars and PhD students based in low- and lower-middle-income countries -World Bank Country Classifications): 80 euro (of which 50 as ECINEQ membership fee).

# **Financial Support**

This year, ECINEQ will provide limited financial assistance to a select number of participants from institutions in low-income and lower-middle-income countries to facilitate their attendance at the 2025 ECINEQ Conference. Click <a href="here">here</a> for details.

# **Local Organizing Committee**

Luis Felipe Lopez-Calva (Global Director of Poverty and Equity Global Practice)

<u>Deon Filmer</u> (Director of Research Group)

Haishan Fu (Chief Statistician and Director of the Development Data Group)

James Foster (George Washington University)

# **Scientific Program Committee**

Sabine Alkire (University of Oxford, UK)

Facundo Alvaredo (Paris School of Economics, FR)

Elena Bárcena-Martín (University of Malaga, ES)

Alessandra Casarico (Bocconi University, IT)

Conchita D'Ambrosio (University of Luxembourg, LU)

Koen Decancq (University of Antwerp, BE)

Raquel Fernández (New York University, US)

Deon Filmer (World Bank, US)

James Foster (George Washington University, US)

Haishan Fu (World Bank, US)

Cecilia García-Peñalosa (Aix-Marseille School of Economics, FR)

Janet C. Gornick (City University of New York, US)

Carol Graham (University of Maryland, US)

Nicolas Gravel (Aix-Marseille School of Economics, FR)

Dean Jolliffe (World Bank, US)

Ravi Kanbur (Cornell University, US)

Eeshani Kandpal (Center for Global Development)

Peter Lanjouw (VU University, NL)

Murray Leibbrandt (University of Cape Town, ZA)

Luis-Felipe Lopez-Calva (World Bank, US)

Nora Lustig (Tulane University, US)

Stephen P. Jenkins (London School of Economics, UK)

Daniel Mahler (World Bank, US)

**Guido Neidhofer** (Turkish-German Univeristy, TR)

Flaviana Palmisano (Sapienza University of Roma, IT)

Susan Parker (University of Maryland, US)

Andreas Peichl (University of Munich, DE)

Vito Peragine (University of Bari, IT)

Xavier Ramos (Autonomous University of Barcelona, ES)

Andrea Repetto (Universidad Católica de Chile, CL)

Carsten Schroeder (DIW Berlin, DE)

Alain Trannoy (Aix-Marseille School of Economics, FR)

Sandy Tubeuf (Université catholique de Louvain, BE)

Philippe Van Kerm (University of Luxembourg & LISER, LU)

Andrea Vigorito (Universidad de la República, UY)

Ingrid Wollard (University of Cape Town, ZA)

Buhong Zheng (University of Colorado Denver, US)

Submission Form Fees Financial Support Contacts Practical Information