









ECINEQ - Latin America and the Caribbean Chapter (ECINEQ-LAC) El Colegio de Mexico, Mexico City December 9 and 10, 2024

Call for Papers

The Society for the Study of Economic Inequality (ECINEQ) is organizing a regional meeting at El Colegio de Mexico, Mexico City on December 9 and 10, 2024. The Organizing Committee welcomes submissions of papers with theoretical and empirical analysis on inequality, mobility, and poverty. Papers focused on Latin America and the Caribbean or on issues relevant for the region will be given priority. We welcome submissions from underrepresented universities, countries, and individuals.

Keynote Lectures. Nora Lustig, Tulane University and president of ECINEQ and Branko Milanovic, CUNY.

Paper submission. Please submit your paper in PDF format at <u>https://bit.ly/ECINEQ-LAC</u> by September 15, 2024. Only reasonably complete papers should be submitted. Abstracts must not exceed 500 words. Decisions are expected to be announced by October 15, 2024. Submissions will be accepted in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Presentations during the conference, however, will be in English. For questions or technical issues with submission, please contact us at <u>ecineqlac@colmex.mx.</u>

Fees and Membership Dues. There will be no registration fees and presenters and participants need not be members of ECINEQ.

Financial assistance. With your submission, please indicate if you will need financial support for travel and/or accommodations. The conference has limited funding so we would appreciate it if you could contribute to the costs of your attendance with resources from your institution or research grants.

Conference attendance. If you wish to attend the conference, but are not presenting a paper, please send an email to <u>ecineqlac@colmex.mx</u> with your name and affiliation by October 31, 2024. Please note that we may not be able to accommodate all requests due to space limitations.

Organization details. Participants will be responsible for making their own travel arrangements, with the exception of presenters that were granted financial assistance. The organizing institution will share a list of hotels with discounted rates in due course.

Organizing Committee: Raymundo Campos, Chair (El Colegio de Mexico); Facundo Alvaredo, member of ECINEQ Council (PSE, LSE, IIEP-UBA); Almudena Fernández (UNDP); Luis Felipe Lopez-Calva, member of ECINEQ Council (World Bank); Nora Lustig, President of ECINEQ (Tulane University); Carlos Rodriguez (World Bank); Andrea Vigorito, member of ECINEQ Council (Universidad de la Republica, Uruguay).

Scientific Committee: Facundo Alvaredo, Co-chair, member of ECINEQ Council (PSE, LSE, IIEP-UBA); Andrea Vigorito, Co-chair, member of ECINEQ Council (Universidad de la República, Uruguay); Eva Arceo (CIDE, Mexico); Francisco Ferreira (LSE); Roxana Maurizio (IIEP-Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina); Luis Angel Monroy (University of Massachusetts, USA); Guido Neidhöfer (ZEW, Germany); Susan Parker (University of Maryland, USA); Andre Portela (Fundacion Getulio Vargas, Brazil); Tomás Rau (Pontificia Universidad Catolica, Chile); Maria Emma Santos (Universidad del Sur, Argentina).