Governing bodies

ECINEQ is governed by a Council, whose decisions require approval by the General Assembly. The Society is administered by an Executive Committee whose members are the President, the President-Elect, the Secretary and the Treasurer who are all elected for a period of two years. The legal seat of ECINEQ is at the University of Verona, Italy, where the secretariat is located. Here you find the statutes of the Society.

The Executive Committee is:

President:  Frank Cowell (London School of Economics, London, UK)

President-Elect: Thomas Piketty (EHESS and Paris School of Economics, FR)

Secretary: Flaviana Palmisano  (University of Sapienza Roma, Italy)  

Treasurer: Elena Barcena Martin (University of Malaga, Spain) 


The Council is composed of (in alphabetical order):

Sabina Alkire (University of Oxford, UK) 

Conchita D’Ambrosio (University of Luxembourg)

Francisco Ferreira (World Bank, Washington, US)

Janet Gornick (City University of New York, US) 

Casilda Lasso de la Vega (Universidad del Pais Vasco)

Maria Ana Lugo (University of Oxford and World Bank)

Nora Lustig (Tulane University, New Orleans, US)

Marta Menendez (Paris-Dauphine University, FR)

Andreas Peichl (University of Munich, DE)

Vito Peragine (University of Bari, Italy)

Martin Ravallion (Georgetown University, US)

Alain Trannoy (GREQAM-IDEP Marseille, France)

Buhong Zheng (University of Colorado, Denver, US)


Past Presidents and members of the Scientific Council